‘Nikita’s’ Shane West on the Mikita Hookup: ‘I was shocked’

Posted: April 27, 2011 in interviews, nikita

Some shows like to drag out the will they or won’t they aspect of their main couple for years, teasing and torturing viewers. Shane West is familiar with that dynamic after three seasons on ABC’s Once and Again – Eli and Grace: Just step-siblings or something more? – and then five years on ER, where he flirted with fellow doctor/friend Neela (Parminder Nagra).

“They were more what I like to call, I guess, reality-based with relationships,” West said of the shows during a recent chat with the press. “It would takes years for something to happen or years for something to develop.” On ER, “it took me three years to have one kiss,” he added.

It didn’t take nearly as long on West’s current show, The CW’s Nikita, which recently threw out the book and threw its formerly at odds main characters together. The passionate get-together between Michael and Nikita (Maggie Q), which came only halfway through the show’s first season, took West by surprise. “Everything that I thought that would have been dragged on for four or five years because that’s what I’m used to” was suddenly happening, he explained.

“I’m glad that the characters are together because that’s what we always wanted,” he said. “But I was shocked that it happened so quickly. I think Maggie was too. … It’s just trying to get used to how different genres work.”

But just because Michael and Nikita are now an item – “They will absolutely be together,” he reiterated – doesn’t mean that things are going to be happily ever after for them.

“They are different people,” West said. “They come from similar backgrounds and troubled people are attracted to each other, but they do handle situations differently. So now it’s having those, some would say, dreaded relationship talks of, ‘How do we do this now?’”

Can Michael and Nikita even have a normal life like the one Michael used to have? “I think a part of him does long for that,” he said. “I don’t know if he is capable currently. I think if he was, the only other love he had in his life was Nikita. So I think maybe tragically or maybe it’ll work out alright that they could potentially have that relationship and get some sort of normalcy, which she never really had, but he did. … I think over time, he will lean toward wanting to have what he had before it was taken away from him.”

In the meantime, Michael and Nikita will be working together to bring down Division. As the show nears the end of its season, West warned of challenges ahead for the couple: “I think the fans will be happy … It’s not going to be easy. I’m very intrigued to see what [fans are] going to think with the last episode. Because [Michael and Nikita] are together, but it looks like it’s going to be a rough road ahead. There’s a lot of questions. There’s a lot of things left open, so that we can get our season two.”

Speaking of season two… “We’re feeling pretty good,” West said of the show’s chances for renewal. “We feel like we have something really special.”

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    renew nikita, just right now o/

  2. I like the idea of Michael and Nikita together as a couple, but I’m more interested in/ I love even more the idea of them working together to bring down Division. Lots of us are watching the show mainly because of the interesting power struggles… We need a new Season to see the series take on all that.

  3. Tany says:

    I love Nikita… it’s one of the best new shows!!! Hoping for a 2nd season!

  4. Jenny says:

    People need to remember that Michael and Nikita have six years of backstory we haven’t seen, so I don’t think it was rushed at all.

    I personally love Mikita and if the CW doesn’t renew Nikita I will be devastated.

  5. nikita fan says:

    renew nikita please,,,,

  6. […] Comments Tara MacAndrew on ‘Being Erica’ Rene…nikita fan on ‘Nikita’s’ S…Jenny on ‘Nikita’s’ S…Tany on ‘Nikita’s’ […]

Leave a Reply

